206451710_1133528167132928_416596254040084238_n-2.jpg

HISTORY

The Swan Reach Hotel is unique in hotel standards, as it was not purpose built, but was formed around the original Swan Reach Homestead, built circa 1865.

From 1861 the original Swan Reach Station consisted of a few huts, workmen’s quarters, sheds and ramps. One can still see the remains of some of these buildings located near the Hotel including that of a loading ramp, where bales of wool from the shearing shed were unloaded from a small tramway system. The bales were then sent down to the river’s edge via wooden slides, to the waiting barges that were on their way to Goolwa.

In 1896, Paul Hasse purchased 520 acres in Swan Reach including the original homestead which is now known as the Swan Reach Hotel. Over its years of operation, the hotel has undergone several major transformations including the addition of the stone one-room public bar in 1907 and the second story in 1912. In 1996, in order to make the most of the exquisite views, a new dining room was built directly overlooking the river.   

 

Today, the Swan Reach Hotel has a walk-in bottle shop, a welcoming, traditional style Front Bar including TAB facilities, a small Saloon Bar area with great river views, gaming room, 8-ball and games room, main Bistro area with sensational river views and upstairs, modest country hotel accommodation

DSC_0231.jpg